Writers' Guild of Alberta


Writers' Guild of Alberta
11759 Groat Road
Edmonton, AB  T5M 3K6
(780) 422-8174


WordsWorth 2015: Kamp Kiwanis, Bragg Creek, AB

Week 2 and 3 sold out. Registration is filling fast!



Complimentary Student Memberships

Currently enrolled in post-secondary studies?


Supported by:


Programs & Services: Youth Programs

For more information on all of these programs, visit www.youngalbertawriters.com.

WordsWorth: A Week-Long Writing Camp in Bragg Creek, Alberta

WordsWorth is a week-long writing camp for teens aged 12 - 18 in Bragg Creek, Alberta.  Find peaceful inspiration while making friendships and learning from some of Alberta's top writers.  For more information on this year's camp, click here.


Drink the Wild Air: A Winter Retreat for Young Writers

Drink The Wild Air is a whirlwind weekend of creativity unleashed. Participants (aged 12-19) will arrive in the evening to the rustic site at Kamp Kiwanis and find themselves surrounded by woods, words, and the weird of the wild. From walks through the snow covered forest and fireside readings in cozy cabins to inspiring sessions from professional writers, Drink The Wild Air offers an experience like no other to a community of budding creatives that is sure to be a breath of fresh air as winter draws to a close. Join us on our adventure March 20 - 22, 2015, and see why a taste of wild air keeps people coming back for more. For more information, click here.


The Isabel Miller Young Writers Award

The Isabel Miller Young Writers Award, for young Alberta writers age 12-18, was established in memory of Isabel Miller, a school teacher and writer who was active in Celebration of Women in the Arts, the Stroll of Poets, and the Writers' Guild of Alberta.

The award is a partnership between the Writers' Guild of Alberta and the Edmonton Public Library. Prizes totaling $600 are awarded. Selected entries are also published in a special chapbook.

The Isabel Miller Young Writers Award will not be presented this year (2012).  Stay tuned for details as they develop for the award in 2013.

2010 Winners and Honourable Mentions

2010 Isabel Miller Young Writers Award Submission Guidelines

Past Winners and Honourable Mentions

Read the 2010 Isabel Miller Young Writers Award Anthology online!

2010 Winning entries were included in the 2010 Isabel Miller Young Writers Award Anthology. Copies of the chapbook can be purchased for $4 (includes postage) or in-person at the WGA Edmonton office for $3. Contact the Edmonton office to order your copy


Teen Writing Groups – Edmonton and Calgary

WGA Teen Writing Group (Calgary)

The Writers' Guild of Alberta offers a Teen Writing Group that meets every month (Sept through June) in Calgary and is mentored by Lisa Murphy-Lamb. The group is FREE to join with the purpose of uniting teens interested in pursuing the craft of writing in a fun, friendly and safe environment.  Participants involve themselves in literary discussion, take part in on-site projects and learning sessions with exciting guests, receive constructive feedback on their writing and engage with other young writers. The age range for the group is 13 – 19.  Themes that have been explored include fiction, poetry, identity, memoir and songwriting. Guest speakers have included Kris Demeanor, WGA alumni Erin Vance and Caritas Longman, Derek Beaulieu, Patrick Pilarski and others.

The WGA Calgary Teen Writing Group meets at Loft 112 once or twice per month on a Sunday from 2:30-5pm. The address is #112, 535 8th Ave SE T2G 5S9.  There is free parking on the street and it's just a 3 minute walk from the C-Train.  Loft 112 is part of the Orange Loft complex, on the main floor with a door that leads right into the loft space (no need to go the lobby).

If you have questions or are interested in joining the WGA Teen Writing Group, please email Lisa at lloftonetwelve@gmail.com

WGA Teen Writing Group (Edmonton)

For updates regarding the WGA Edmonton Teen Writing Group (currently under re-developemt) please revisit this page or contact the WGA Head Office in Edmonton in early January 2015.

Copyright 2009-2013 . All Rights Reserved